Home Awards Scholarship Awards

Thanks to OB's Sponsors!

Scholarship Awards PDF Print E-mail

Two types of publication awards are made:

Lifetime Achievement Award

The OB Division Lifetime Achievement Award, established in 2005, recognizes senior scholars who have made exceptional contributions to our discipline throughout their careers. To be eligible for the award, an individual must have completed his or her PhD (or finished his or her training/education) at least twenty years ago. Second, the individual must be a truly outstanding scholar. He or she will have published in the very best journals, and conducted research that has had a significant impact on the field.  Third, recipients of the Lifetime Achievement Award have contributed not only through their scholarship, but through service to the field.  For example, they may have served as editors of leading journals, held leadership positions with the Division or the Academy, and/or been exceptional teachers and mentors for doctoral students.

Nominations are accepted from all OB Division members.  For the 2015 Lifetime Achievement Award, please send a letter of nomination along with the nominee's curriculum vita to Paul Tesluk ( This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it ) by January 15, 2015.

All past award winners:

Cummings Scholarly Achievement Award

The Organizational Behavior Division recognizes the significant scholarly achievement during the early- to mid-career stage with the prestigious Cummings Scholarly Achievement Award. This award, created in honor of the late Professor Larry Cummings, recognizes the scholarly achievement of an early- to mid-career scholar. The award winner will be announced at the division’s annual meeting at the Academy of Management conference.

To be eligible for this award, one must be a member of the OB division and must have received his or her PhD no more than 12 years ago (on or after December 31, 2002).

Nominations are accepted from all OB Division members.  Nominations should include the following materials:

  • A letter indicating why the person is deserving of the award (e.g. important and novel research questions, publications in top-tier journals, high citation counts, etc.)
  • The nominee's curriculum vita
  • Copies of 2 of the nominee's publications

To nominate a OB Division member for the 2015 Cummings Scholarly Achievement Award, send nomination materials to Paul Tesluk ( This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it ) by January 15, 2015.

Past award winners:

  • 2015 Brent Scott (Michigan State University)
  • 2014 Aparna Joshi (Pennsylvania State University)
  • 2013 Francesca Gino (Harvard University)
  • 2012 Hui Liao (University of Maryland)
  • 2011 Adam M. Grant (University of Pennsylvania)
  • 2010 Maria L. Kraimer (University of Iowa)
  • 2009 Remus Ilies (Michigan State University)
  • 2008 Gilad Chen (University of Maryland)
  • 2007 Don Moore (Carnegie Mellon University)
  • 2006 Jason Colquitt (University of Florida)
  • 2005 Jeffrey LePine (University of Florida)
  • 2004 Jean Phillips (Rutgers University)
  • 2003 Amy Edmondson (Harvard Business School)
  • 2002 Michele Gelfand (University of Maryland)
  • 2001 Timothy A. Judge (University of Florida)
  • 2000 Sandra L. Robinson (University of British Columbia)
  • 1999 Elizabeth Wolfe Morrison (New York University)
  • 1998 Jennifer Chatman (University of California, Berkeley)

Copyright © 2015 OBWeb. All Rights Reserved.
Joomla! is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL License.